The Town Council

Denbigh Town Council came into being on the 1st April 1974 following local government reorganisation. Previous to that date the town of Denbigh had its own self-contained local authority - Denbigh Borough Council comprising of 16 councillor led by a Mayor and 3 Aldermen. The Borough Council was formed on the 1st January 1836.

The present Town Council is made up of 15 councillors representing three wards of the town: Upper, Central and Lower. 5 councillors represent the Upper Ward, 3 the Central Ward and 7 the Lower Ward. The 2011 census gave the population of Denbigh as 9,876 (including Henllan) divided between the wards as follows:

Upper (including Henllan) - 3,150
Central ā€“ 2,087
Lower - 4,639

Five county councillors are elected to represent Denbigh on Denbighshire County Council ā€“ 2 for the Upper Ward (which also includes the community of Henllan), 1 for the Central Ward and 2 for the Lower Ward. Two county councillors are also members of the Town Council.
The Town Council is administered by the Town Clerk who is also the Financial Officer with an office located at the Town Hall.

Mission Statement:

The Town Council is committed to improving quality of life for all its residents.
The Town Council recognises its duty to be responsive to the needs of all who live and work in the town and to do so in a way which respects cultural identity and equality of opportunity.
The Town Council will work in partnership with all other bodies, whether statutory, public, private, voluntary or community in order to improve the quality of life and well-being of its community and to promote the town in an active and positive manner.

The Town Council meets in the council chamber located at the Town Hall twice a month with the exception of August. In addition there are a number of sub committees that meet as and when required.